Piano Trio: RACHMANINOFF — Trio élégiaque No. 1 in G minor

SERGEI RACHMANINOFF Trio élégiaque No. 1 in G minor
Andrea Obiso, violin
Oliver Herbert, cello
Wei Luo, piano

Performed on Tuesday, March 5, 2019
Field Concert Hall, Curtis Institute of Music, Philadelphia

Sergei Rachmaninoff (1873–1943) was only twelve years old when he was admitted into Moscow Conservatory. When he graduated, he had already established himself as a significant composer, pianist, and conductor. He launched this multifaceted musical career as a concert pianist, dazzling crowds with the large span of his hands.

Rachmaninoff wrote his Trio élégiaque No. 1 in G minor in 1892—his final year at the conservatory—over the course of just a few days. He and some colleagues premiered the work soon after, but it was not published until 1947, well after the composer’s death. The trio is in a single movement, but is filled with the haunting lyricism and melancholic beauty that would remain the hallmarks of Rachmaninoff’s music throughout his life.
—Hannah Horine

Learn more about this work: