Leonidas Kavakos: Prokofiev – Violin Concerto No. 1 in D major, Op. 19 (Mariinsky Orchestra)

From the Great Hall of the Moscow Conservatory, on 26 April 2012

Leonidas Kavakos – violin
Symphony Orchestra of the Mariinsky Theatre, St Petersburg
Valery Gergiev – musical director

Sergei Prokofiev – Violin Concerto No.1 in D major Opus 19 (22′)
0:00 Entrance
0:21 I. Andantino
10:08 II. Scherzo
13:50 III. Moderato – Allegro moderato

Watch the full concert here: https://goo.gl/uvj4pm

The Easter Festival is an internationally renowned event among classical music lovers, traditionally opened in Moscow on Easter Sunday. Each year the Mariinsky Theatre Orchestra and its musical director Valery Gergiev travel across Russia – for the past 10 years now!

In 2012 we were given an exceptional musical gift: the Mariinsky Theatre Symphony Orchestra under the baton of Valery Gergiev performed the complete cycle of Sergei Prokofiev’s symphonies and piano concerti – a composer with whom Maestro Gergiev and the orchestra seem particularly in tune.