Bach: Sonata for Violin and Piano in B minor | Frank Peter Zimmermann (violin), Enrico Pace (piano)

Frank Peter Zimmermann and Enrico Pace perform Johann Sebastian Bach’s Sonata for Violin and Piano in B minor (BWV1014) in an impressive Baroque setting: The library of the more than 300-year-old Polling Monastery is one of the most beautiful baroque rooms in Germany. Violinist Frank Peter Zimmerman is one of the best violinists in the world. His numerous recordings have already won countless prizes. Italian pianist Enrico Pace has accompanied Zimmerman on the piano since 1998.

Together they play the first of six sonatas originally written by Johan Sebastian Bach for violin and harpsichord. Bach composed the six sonatas during his time in Weimar and Köthen (1708-1723). They are considered the first violin sonatas in the history of music in which the keyboard instrument does not merely provide chordal accompaniment, but functions as an equal partner to the violin.

I. Adagio 00:32
II. Allegro 04:56
III. Andante 07:44
IV. Allegro 10:21

© EuroArts Music International GmbH

Watch more concerts in your personal concert hall:

Subscribe to DW Classical Music:

#JohannSebastianBach #FrankPeterZimmermann #SixSonatas #EnricoPace